Plano Texas Politics

June 9, 2009

Preschool/Pre-Kindergarten

I am a firm believer in private/home schooling and do not believe that the government has any business teaching the youth of America. Constitutionally they do not have the right, so I think that they should not teach the youth of America. I have a problem with public schooling in the first place but pre-K or preschool is in my mind even worse. Why don’t we just start letting the government brainwash our kids right from the womb? The Washington Post had an article June 8th on the importance of preschool. This is what the Post said that we are paying for preschool education. (If you didn’t know preschool starts at four.)

“Nationally, state and local governments spend about $4,600 annually per student enrolled in state pre-K, according to the National Institute for Early Education Research. (More than $8,000 is spent per student in Maryland and about $5,600 in Virginia; statistics were not available for the District.)”

I don’t know about you but I do not like to know that the government is taking money from me to “educate” four year-olds. I think that children that young should be raised by their parents, and if the parents have to work than they can go to day care but the government doesn’t need to start teaching the youth of America when they are still four. When children are four they are still learning about morals and what is right and wrong. Do you want the government to teach our youth morals? I don’t.

The Post’s defense of preschooling was that it helped prepare the kids for normal public schooling.

“Statewide, 75 percent of entering kindergartners who attended public pre-K were rated fully ready. (The rate was 86 percent for students who attended tuition-charging, nonpublic nursery schools.) Among students who had stayed home or been informally schooled, 63 percent were rated fully ready when they entered kindergarten.”

I am very curious as to how one would conduct a test to see if someone is ready for school after going through preschool. I mean how can you test something like that? I hope that you can see that we need to correct the way that the government is spending our tax dollars.

-James Dalley

5 Comments »

  1. In my daughter’s pre-K class, they were learning numbers and letters to help prepare them for Kindergarten. In Kindergarten they learned words. By the time my daughter finished Kindergarten last month, she is able to read and do basic addition. I too feel that private school provides a much better education. However, private school comes at a cost. I know all too well. $10,000 – $20,000 per year per child isn’t cheap. There are very few people who can afford that. Daycare is just as much.

    Comment by Judy Bryan — June 9, 2009 @ 10:45 pm | Reply

    • I understand that it does teach children somethings but I still think that it would be better to have them taught by the parents. I will reiterate what I said earlier about morals. Children are being taught morals in public school and at such a critical age the parents should have more control over what their kids are taught. Thank you for your comment though. I would like to refer you to the below comment. This person puts it better than I did.
      -Jame Dalley

      Comment by jdalley — June 9, 2009 @ 11:15 pm | Reply

  2. Totally agree! Why are so many people so willing, trusting, or falling prey to allowing strangers to raise their flesh & blood? There are endless cases of how kids excel when they are reared by loving, committed parents. Tests have proved homeschooled children test higher, become better leaders and yes, are socially balanced! Wouldn’t it make more sense if money was allocated in programs teaching PARENTS how to be more effective and nurturing? How about educating them in finances, business ownership, investments, etc so they can spend more time with there family w/out the financial pressures? Absentee parents (not by choice) could be major reason why many of the public schools are dealing with drugs, sex and other moral issues.
    Is the government in its current state who you want your children to emulate?????

    Comment by Anita K — June 9, 2009 @ 11:05 pm | Reply

    • I love this comment. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my article and then posting such a great comment. I completely agree with you on everything you said. I would like to refer you to a great TV series called Free To Choose by Milton Friedman. He has a wonderful section on private versus public schooling. You can find it on Youtube if you are interested. I’ll try to find it and then post a link. Once again thank you!
      -James Dalley

      Comment by jdalley — June 9, 2009 @ 11:19 pm | Reply

  3. It is ridiculous that the government has about 35 hours a week to brainwash most of the juvenile population. How many young athiests are there in more recent years compared to, say, 30 years ago? This must be partly because the discredited theory of evolution is taught as gospel truth. I don’t have any children, but I want to homeschool when I do, or find a private school.
    http://politicsthatmatter.wordpress.com

    Comment by pianopeck — June 12, 2009 @ 10:30 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

